Breeding my mare for the first time

HorseChannel.com Message Board
Rules-Read First    Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

Home » HorseChannel.com Forums » Your First Horse » Breeding my mare for the first time Join the Club

12345»»»

Breeding my mare for the first time Expand / Collapse
Author

Advanced Member

Advanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced Member

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 12:24:07 PM
I'm breeding my 12 y/o (she'll be 13 when i breed her) QH bay mare around March.  This is my first time to breed a horse, and I don't know very much about it.  Are there other plants toxic to the pregnant mare, like fescue?  Do I need to keep her seperate from my geldings at first (one is proud cut)?  It's about 11 months being pregnant, right?  I don't have a barn, so I was going to put her in the round pen when it got close to time to foal. 

Please share info or random tips on this stuff!  []  Thanks!

If you keep doing the same thing, you'll keep getting the same thing.

Post #311151
Posted 12/7/2009 11:53:56 AM

Junior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior Member

Last Login: 12/14/2012 5:04:00 PM