Horse Channel Logo

Profile Picture

What is a hard mouth and soft mouth?

Posted By LilGreenHorn 4 Years Ago
Author
Posted 4 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 4 Years Ago
What does it mean when a horse has a hard mouth or a soft mouth? Please forgive the question; I'm very new to all of this!

Gracie53
Posted 4 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Advanced Member

Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)Advanced Member (7,947 reputation)

Last Active: Yesterday @ 1:51 PM
soft mouthed horses are wonderful to ride, and are made that way through correct training (light/correct hands) sm horses accept the bridle, as in they can take just enough contact so it feels like your holding two fishing poles w a small fish on the end. also, you can easily collect them w/o them curling in you.

hard mouth horses could be described as 'bullish in the bridle', brought on from years of rough hands, pretty much they just dont have the same responsiveness to the bit. hope that helps

LilGreenHorn
Posted 4 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)Junior Member (132 reputation)